Argie Road, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS4 2QZ | Tel: 0113 8878982 Fax: 0113 2306186 Email:


As Governors, we are very proud of our school – it is clear to us that the pupils thrive here: they are safe, work hard and enjoy their learning. The teaching staff put in a huge number of hours preparing and delivering lessons, whilst giving the children the care and attention they need. The success and development of the pupils is clearly reflective of the staff’s drive, dedication and hard work.

We have an excellent mix of Governors comprising of elected parents, local authority representatives, community members, teachers and associate members. The Governors bring a wealth of knowledge covering a wide range of areas e.g. finance, recruitment, health and safety, special education needs and pastoral support.

We volunteer our time and regularly meet at the school to not only support, but also challenge the Headteacher in our role as ‘critical friend’. We are the strategic managers of the school creating and reviewing school policies, targets and the direction of the school.

KVPS Governance Statement 2017-18


Ms Sam Clarke - Chair of Governors
Year 4 Governor

Appointed 20th May 2015

Ms Amber Rithalia - Vice Chair
Year 2 Governor

Appointed 18th October 2013

Mr Adrian Lodge - Co-opted Governor
Year 5 Governor

Appointed 20th May 2015

Cllr John Illingworth - LA Governor
Year 6 Governor

Appointed 05th September 2011


Ms Hilary Mitchell - Parent Governor      
Year 1 Governor  

Appointed 18th October 2013  


Mr Seb McGowan - Co-opted Governor

Appointed 20th May 2015

Miss Hayley Wild - Staff Governor
Year 6 Teacher - Assistant Head

Appointed 07th April 2015

Mrs Tracy Catherall - Parent Governor
Year 3 Governor

Appointed 30th September 2015


Ms Agnieszka Szymanowicz - LA Governor  
Early Years Governor

Appointed 18th September 2015


Mr Duncan Macgregor - Parent Governor

Appointed 20th November 2017


 Mr Waseem Tahir - Parent Governor

Appointed 20th November 2017






Ms Emma Holdsworth - Associate Member
Office Manager

Appointed 5th March 2018

Mr Alan Phillips - Associate Member
Site and Network Manager

Appointed 20th May 2015



Teaching and Learning Committee
John Illingworth (Chair), Hayley Wild (A/HT), Phil Robertson (associate Governor and incoming HT), Amber Rithalia (Clerk), Tracy Catherall

Resources Committee
Adrian Lodge (Chair), Hayley Wild (A/HT), Phil Robertson (associate Governor and incoming HT), Sam Clarke (Clerk), Seb McGowan, Hilary Mitchell, Agnieszka Szymanowicz, Waseem Tahir

Pupil Support Committee
Sam Clarke (Chair), Hayley Wild (A/HT), Tracy Catherall, Duncan MacGregor, Agnieszka Szymanowicz

HT Performance Management Governors
Sam Clarke, Adrian Lodge, Seb McGowan

Strategic Governors Committee
All governors are members of this committee and attend meetings depending on the agenda topics

Pupil or staff disciplinary panel – 3 from the following
Sam Clarke, Adrian Lodge, John Illingworth, Seb McGowan, Agnieszka Szymanowicz

Pay appeals committee
Amber Rithalia, Tracy Catherall, John Illingworth

Governing Body Summary

Category  Seats Possible  Seats Approved Vacancies  
Co-opted Representative 4   4   0  
Head Teacher 1   1   0  
LA Representative 1   1   0  
Parent Representative 5   5   0  
Staff Governor Representative 1   1   0  
Total 12   12   0  
Associated Members 2   2   0  


Individual roles

Performance data – Amber Rithalia

Maths – Amber Rithalia

English – Adrian Lodge

ICT – Seb McGowan

PSHE – Tracy Catherall

Financial data – Hilary Mitchell

Child protection – Sam Clarke

SEND – Tracy Catherall

Children Looked After – Sam Clarke

Equalities – Agnieszka Szymanowicz

Attendance – Sam Clarke (key priority for all governors and is discussed at termly at Full Governors Meetings)

Early Years – Agnieszka Szymanowicz

Health & Safety – Seb McGowan

Pupil Premium – Amber Rithalia

PE & Sports Premium – Tracy Catherall

Governor training – Amber Rithalia

Complaints – Sam Clarke

Website – Duncan MacGregor

Class links

Early Years Foundation Stage – Agnieszka Szymanowicz

Year 1 – Hilary Mitchell

Year 2 – Amber Rithalia

Year 3 - Tracy Catherall

Year 4 – Sam Clarke

Year 5 – Adrian Lodge

Year 6 – John Illingworth


The Governing Body of each school is required by regulations made under the School Standards and Framework Act 1998 to establish a register which lists for each member of the Governing Body and the Headteacher any business or personal interests they or any member of their immediate family have, which could conflict with the school's interests.  Please find below governors who have declared interests:

Currently no governors have declared any interests.